Kitchen Mood Board

As the building progress is flying, it’s time for me to get planning! I’m in the middle of a lot of mood boards. My indecisiveness is a demon! So now that time isn’t on my side is great. It’s making me make decisions. It’s so much easier to design for anybody, but myself! I’m definitely my toughest client 😉

The mood board shows lots of grey, white and navy with lots of natural textures and materials.

image

Seeing as it’s a teeny, tiny house in the middle of the countryside I didn’t want to create a contemporary design. So I’m keeping pretty traditional. The kitchen will have grey shaker style units with a white counter top. I can’t give anymore details on the counter as I haven’t picked it yet! What I have chosen is a 90cm cream Smeg cooker and fridge/freezer.

PicMonkey Collage

KitchenBenchCooker

I want the kitchen and dining area to have a very relaxed feel. A formal setting just wouldn’t work here. So rather than a matching dining table and chairs, I’ve opted for a dining nook with built-in benches (similar to the one above). I want the seats to be hinged so we can have extra storage.

The seats will have long navy velvet cushions, teamed with scatter cushions on the back. Velvet is extremely hard-wearing. Fingers crossed it can withstand dinners, parties and 3 pooches 🙂 The scatter cushions will be a mix of the fabrics below with some plain velvet thrown in for balance.

 wpid-img_20150810_184623.jpg

Clockwise from Top: Prestigious Textiles, Harlequin, Scion.

This flooring will be throughout the kitchen, utility and bathroom. It’s a wood effect tile. I would have loved a wooden floor. However I need to be practical so this was the next best thing! It’s texture is closer to timber than tile and it has an aged effect. Perfect for the little cottage 🙂

autun_418x397

I’ve picked a sisal rug from Ikea that will sit under the dining table. This is a great way to create different areas, within a space. This rug is super durable and made from natural fibres. It’s also double-sided so double the wear! Prices start from €35. Bargain!

osted-rug-flatwoven-beige__0243845_PE383169_S4

There’s still A LOT to decide on and I can’t promise I won’t change my mind!

Next on the list:

Paint

Blinds

Curtains

Tiles/Splash Back

Dining Table

Additional Chairs

Armchair (Too many to choose from!)

And there’s definitely a few I’ve forgotten!

x Cíara x

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Mood Board

Leave a Reply

