The Cottage Renovation – Hitting The Floor

This week I’ve been doing very little. Thankfully not everyone has been the same as me πŸ˜‰

wpid-20150505_180245.jpg

The old, damp concrete floors have been removed. Luckily we were able to keep one of them. The floor, in what will now be the bedroom, was salvageable.

The rest of them however weren’t so lucky.

We’ve been back and forth on the configuration of the existing house and the new extension. Our budget is pretty tight so we wanted to go for an extension exempt from planning. While it’s quite restrictive, it does narrow down all the endless possibilities if we were to build a large extension.

We’ve decided to put the extension on the East side of the back of the house. The french doors will face the west so we can catch the evening sun. It’s standard to put them on the east for morning sunlight. However it would be a rare occasion that we’d have time to throw open the doors, sit outside and enjoy breakfast in the morning. We’ve been drawing up some rough sketches and plans to help us decide.

wpid-img_20150613_130558.jpg

The bathroom has probably been the hardest room to design. One thing I’ve missed is a bath tub. So that was definitely on the wish list. Himself was insisting on a stand alone shower because he didn’t want the hassle of climbing into a bath to get a shower. Real first world problems!

Anyone else hate having to compromise? πŸ˜‰

xCΓ­arax

9 thoughts on “The Cottage Renovation – Hitting The Floor

    • We’ve jigged around the plans so we both get what we want πŸ™‚ A bath is definitely the best place for peace and quiet! I’m looking forward to the bubble bath on a Friday night already πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Myself and the hubby had the exact same argument about the bath! He wanted a fancy walk in shower, I insisted on having a bath. I won thankfully! Although we had to compromise a bit – I had picked out all manner of fabulous baths but in the end he got to choose. He is a builder and had a bath from a job ages ago that was going spare so we used that. Not my ideal choice but it was free so I couldn’t really say no.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ciara there’s a lot to be said for freebies! I’ve managed to pick up some windows and doors for free. Some of the window sizes aren’t exactly what I’d like but they’re free so I’m using them! πŸ™‚ I’ve had to sacrifice the bath I wanted due to cost but I’m sure I won’t mind what tub it is when I’m relaxing in it with a glass of vino πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

